Attracted by tiny insects

Today I decided something different was required for my run, and photo. I have just bought a small book on walks in and around Auckland. I dropped S off at the opticians for her appointment, and drove to the inner city suburb of Orakei, to walk and run through the Kepa Bush Reserve.

I've been an Auckland resident since 1969 apart from one year in New Plymouth and one year in London. Yet, I had no idea that such a place existed only a couple of kilometres south east of the city centre. This is real NZ bush with tangles of ferns, small and large trees, and such a noisy accumulation of birds. 

Tui were prolific. And LOUD. And willing to stay in view for a photo or more.Unfortunately, in the bush they are both in relatively low light and looking up against the sky (even obstructed somewhat by the tree canopy), that a fair bit of work was required to get some decent photos.

In the lower parts of the reserve, near the edge with the mangroves beside the creek at the bottom of the hill, my presence had clearly disturbed the myriad small insects on which piwakawaka (NZ fantails) feed. These wee birds are often shy, but these ones were not, and I was able to get the clearest photo yet of one. 

I still need to get one with its tail fanned; one day ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.