Morning at Pile Moorings

Woke early enough to look for a Saturday sunrise. Thought about combining it with a volcano shot, and instead decided to go to Westhaven as it was when going past there on my way to work the last couple of days that I had enjoyed the glimpses of the sunrise that I allowed myself while driving on the Harbour Bridge. I went right to the end of the parking area for boaties at the end of Curran Street extension. The main Westhaven marina was to my left the right (I don't usually mix up my sides!) and behind where I was standing for this photo. In front of me, between Curran Street and the wharves of central Auckland is a part of the Westhaven Marina known as Pile Moorings; the yachts moored here are accessible only by dinghy.

Over a period of ten minutes I stood and watched the sky change from the red of dawn before sun-up to this, my last photo of the day. Gulls cavorted in front of me, the light changed as did the colours, and I worked out the best framing. 

I've spent most of what has been a gloriously sunny day, reading agenda papers for Tuesday and Wednesday. Not yet finished, so more to read tomorrow. Two thirds of the reading has only been sent in the last couple of days; means that this weekend has had to be for the reading.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.