Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Party on, Dude!

So says the blue jay as he faffs around the edge of our deck. Between this one and the grackles, and the woodpeckers (Downy and red bellied), things in the Back Forty were busy this afternoon. I think the woodpeckers must have hatchlings as both males and females were beating a steady stream to/from the suet today, always carrying off loads of suet when they left. The nuthatches got in on the action, too, speeding in and out.

I had to give it up to the blue jay, though, for sheer entertainment value. They are used to me being on the deck now, so will fly in while I am sitting less than 10 feet away. They are like most corvids - smart and sociable, and so much fun to watch. I wonder if they think the same about me? Hm...

The day started with a white tailed deer strolling through the Back Forty, picking up fallen blossoms from the tulip trees - apparently a delicacy. Haven't seen many deer lately so guess that the females are getting ready to have their babies now. This one is either a young female or a buck - I can't tell. The bucks drop their antlers over the winter so they look pretty much like the females to my uneducated eye.

The little RT Hummer came to visit several times, posing for a close up which was going to be my blip until the blue jay flashed his wares and stole the show. I also saw the male RTH, but he was in and out too quickly for me to get a good shot. Plenty of time...

We are headed into a long weekend here in the US - Memorial Day is Monday. Tomorrow morning, I'm headed out on a 4-hour Audubon Nature walk in the morning - should be fun and educational.

Hope you all had/have a good Friday!! Thanks so much for the hearts and stars on my little hummer yesterday. You'll be seeing lots more of her, and her buddies (and hopefully babies) this summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.