The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

ROygbiv - Red or Orange?

Head was in a shed yesterday, and I wasn't going to change a rather cool entry ... but I completely forgot that I was meant to be starting a new ROY G BIV challenge. Seven days .. seven colours of the rainbow.

So I am playing catch up today with Red and Orange in one blip!

Now I wanted a picture of a real robin, but they decided to be shy today after a few days of visiting the feeders, so I had to make do with this rather nice thank you card I got from one of the WI's I did a talk for.

The robin on the left is often referred to a "redbreast" ... the object on the right is a rather juicy naval orange. What have they both got in common ... they are both orange!

So ....... why isn't the Robin called an orange breast I hear you ask? The answer is quite simple really There was no colour for the word orange until the fruit was discovered in the sixteenth centuary!

The robin got its redbreast name back in 530AD when a monk described it in a journal. It is also the very first bird names on the official species list in the UK. They are listed chronologically. The list currently stands at five hundred and ninety six species!

So that's red and orange done .. yellow tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.