peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Idea leuconeo

Or tree nymph to give it the English name. Took a second trip to the RHS garden at Wisley to see the "Butterflies in the Glasshouse" exhibition which closes on Sunday.

At risk of sounding like blipfoto's answer to Victor Meldrew I have to say that I came away rather disappointed. The spotters guide on sale at the entrance shows around 50 different species and previously I saw several examples of most of them. Today I don't think there were as many as ten species to be seen and very few specimens of most of those - this was the only tree nymph I saw during a fairly extended stay. A lot of the survivors were in a rather tatty state and on a few occasions I had the camera up to my eye before I realised that I was about to shoot a corpse! I appreciate that with a living exhibit like this you can't time things exactly but I can't help thinking that this event, which must have been incredibly lucrative, probably ran for about a week too long.

Right, that's got that off my chest, now I should just shut up and be thankful that I got a half decent macro to blip for the second day running!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.