Gargoyle

Today I had an appointment to get my roots done and have my hair trimmed too. I was glad to get it done - it needed it, especially the roots!

 I would have preferred to stay at home though as I still feel pretty rough. My throat is still sore and I don't have much energy either! My voice kept going while I was talking to my hairdresser - I hope it lasts while I am at work tonight! 

I can't afford not to go. There's no pay if I don't. Small businesses like the one I work in often can't afford to pay someone to be at home sick, and someone else to cover for them at work. Nor are the wages good enough for you to afford a day off, so you work when you shouldn't. Not a good thing, especially in the food industry!

Anyway I feel a bit better than I did this morning so hopefully I will be fine. It's harder work than it used to be. There are only two of us to do the job that used to be done by three of us. It's not too bad on a really quiet night but when it's busy it can be very tough going!

Anyway, I digress! This is a picture of a Gargoyle on Lincoln's Stonebow. I love Gargoyles! I've no idea what the purpose of them is meant to be, but they do give a building a bit of character!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.