Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Kiss...

I had the pleasure this morning of watching several pairs of Laughing Gulls performing their courtship rituals on the beach at Fort DeSoto.  This is something I've never had a chance to observe, so I was really delighted to be in the right place/right time.  Laughing Gulls are monogamous, sometimes staying together through multiple breeding seasons.  This pair was either getting to know each other for the first time, or perhaps re-establishing their pair bonds.  

They stayed close to each other, even while surrounded by some 50 or 60 other gulls and terns.  They would circle each other, one or both talking, raising their heads high and letting their wings hang at their sides.  Eventually, they'd lock bills, which is what I've captured here, and stay that way for up to a minute before gently separating.  When a third gull tried to butt in, he was soundly chased away by the courting couple, accompanied by very loud scolding.  In short, it was all rather magical to watch and I wish I'd thought to shoot some video of it.  Maybe next time...

I've posted 11 other photos starting HERE with my second choice shot

I'm LOVING the D750 - no surprise there, right?  Glad I decided to rent it for a week - it's such a great way to try out different gear.  My D600 is now supposed to be delivered sometime before 8 tonight.  Meaning that our potential adventure is off the table as I must be here to sign for the camera when it is delivered.  Oh, well.  Maybe next week.  Have to see what the weather does...  Speaking of weather - it was another perfect day in central FL - sunny, nice breeze and about 77F.   Meanwhile, it's snowing in Andover, NJ - making me glad we are still here and not there right now.  

Thanks for your lovely comments on my Limpkin yesterday.  I shall miss seeing them when I leave later this month.  But, I have hummingbirds to look forward to again this summer...

Toodles,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.