Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What a bird!

I don't think I will ever lose my excitement over getting a look at a Pileated Woodpecker, North America's largest WP. Today, having a nearly terminal case of cabin fever, I got in the car and headed to the Delaware River where there have been reports of various species of ducks. It's one of the only open bodies of water in our area right now, so makes sense that lots of waterfowl would congregate there as they prepare to migrate.

What I wasn't expecting to see was a lovely male woodpecker, not even 50 feet from where I was walking. He was busily working over the tree, no doubt looking for insects. I got about 10 shots before he flew off. A good start to an equally good birding outing! I saw goldeneyes (ducks), a flicker, cedar waxwings, a yellow rumped warbler, a ruby-crowned kinglet, countless robins and juncos, and an Eastern phoebe - a member of the flycatcher family that does not usually winter this far north. I was having such a good time, that I went to another birding "hot spot" and was treated to a few more birds. I posted the best 8 shots on Flickr, starting here.

I'm dashing off now to get dinner done - a simple pasta/Greek salad, but I need to cut up all the veggies and cook the pasta...so I'm off!

Cheers,

Debbie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.