Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hawk trumps woodpecker...

I thought I might go 3 for 3 today and give you another woodpecker ... but then Young Coop showed up. Which meant that the woodpeckers wisely retreated to the trees, in no mood to pose for pictures. Coop has that effect on them, you know. And, after last week's "unfortunate grackle incident", who can blame them... (Hint: there is a pile of grackle feathers in the snow next to our patio...). This beautiful creature is an immature Cooper's Hawk, Accipiter cooperii and he enjoys dining on other birds.

I ventured out to the single open patch of water on the lake today - and got to see Canada Geese, American Black Ducks, Mallards and mute swans. That was pretty cool. I think I will get myself out to another of the area lakes tomorrow and see what's floating around. It was bitterly cold this morning, but the temps are supposed to rise this week up into the 40's by Saturday. Break out the shorts.

I've downloaded a trial copy of Lightroom 5 with the intention of teaching myself how to use it. So far, I've invented some new curse words, and have only managed to lose 10 photos. But, hey, the day is still relatively young. Of the pictures I managed not to lose, seven are posted on Flickr, starting HERE - more shots of Coop, a nuthatch, ducks, swan, and a couple of squirrels just because they are so stinking cute!

Thanks for sending Archie, Blanche and the "bat" to the Spotlight today! If they weren't busy hiding from Coop, they'd be here to tell you that they are thrilled. As am I. :)

Ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.