Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Two words...

Have you ever thought about how something as simple as two little words can ultimately change the direction of your life?

Five years ago today, March 4, 2008, I heard two words that did, indeed, start the wheels of change in motion. I sat in my doctor's office the day after having a brain scan and was told that I had an Acoustic Neuroma, a rare form of brain tumor affecting about 3,000 new patients a year. Two words...

Acoustic Neuroma...
Brain tumor...
Oh shit...
How inconvenient...

My husband and I spent that evening crouched over our computers, Googling everything we could find on the subject. Some of it was terrifying, mostly it was overwhelming. I kept hoping it would just go away, that I could go on with my life with no change ... my business was doing well, I was scheduled to give a speech at an international conference that May, things were good.

But sometimes we are destined for change and for me, this was the prologue to the next chapter of my life and one that ultimately led me back to photography and gave me a new appreciation for the beauty that exists around me. I've had some bumps in the road, but who hasn't? And mine were bumps, not valleys.

Just the same, I've felt a bit jumpy and at odds today. It's been hard to focus and I keep finding my memories drifting back to 5 years ago when I had no idea what was ahead of me.

Of course, it is also possible that I am just feeling maudlin because I had to box up the rental camera and lens and send them back today...reminding me of two other words

Nikon, baby!

Hoping you are all having a good start to the week.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.