Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

"OMG! It's a BAT!!!"

...said Archie as he flung himself to the bottom of the feeder, hoping to escape the fearsome flying devil. Meanwhile, poor Blanche was left to face the fearsome bat junco all by herself. You can see that she was shocked. This may not bode well for Archie's chances with Blanche...but love is strange and you just never know. They were seen a short while later holding hands

While not my best shot of the day, it reminded me of a funny story from when Hubs and I were dating... We went to Chicago for a long weekend and visited the wonderful zoo while we were there. I was very excited to visit the bat house, where the bats are actually flying around you, without glass barriers. It was pretty cool - and terrifying at the same time - to have a large fruit bat zooming straight towards your head, or at least so I thought. Little did I know that Hubs - then Boyfriend - was terrified of bats. While I was shrieking with delight, he had flung himself to the floor, letting out manly shrieks of terror. So, is it any wonder that I love this shot?

Still having loads of fun taking flight shots and managed to get a few keepers today. I've posted 5 of my favorites starting HERE on Flickr
.
Thank you all so very much for the hearts, stars, and comments on yesterday's woodpecker tongue - you guys rock! Who knew you'd be as geeky as me, and think that a bird tongue was cool?

Happy Monday, people.

cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.