But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Seeing the Light.

I had planned on writing a little treatise on "seeing the light" but, my memory being what it is, I haven't a clue what it was to be about. We were rushing around packing as we're going to a patchwork retreat at Sunny Bridlington first thing in the morning. Tonight, I have a meeting to plan the next season's cinema programme which will give me something to do while we're away, and Jnr has just phoned to inform me that there is more maths homework on the horizon.

The candle is of the rolled variety, usually made from foundation, a sheet of wax made with the honeycomb pattern impressed on it to ensure that the bees draw it out accurately. Before the technique of embossing the sheets was developed, the bees were given flat sheets of wax; they would start building the comb at several places on the sheet, but the pieces of comb never met up accurately and so the irregular joins constituted wasted space. This would happen in wild comb so the foundation sheets represent the one instance where beekeepers do better than nature.

I did realise, after post processing, that I should have combined two pictures to handle the wide range of tones, that will have to wait until next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.