Magical moments

There was something in the air this morning, I'm sure.  

Whilst having breakfast, I was enjoying a little peruse of blip. Earthdreamer's book collection captured my attention, but one in particular mentioning magic triggered my mind to travel.  And I'm wondering if that was the start of my field day.

The morning was forecast to be grey and possibly wet but I went out on my bike anyway. Even though there was a little headwind whichever direction I rode, I thoroughly enjoyed myself and, the short route that started off feeling quite long has, after a few months, become a pleasant outing. My clock is now on but simply to record the miles. I sit on my bike and enjoy the journey.  And it stayed dry.

Little Dog's turn next and the sun was coming out. First feeling of magic.

BlackTulip had suggested that the fieldfares might be heading off soon so I thought we might try a little harder today to get close but they simply weren't around. However, what has been about today has been truly extraordinary. It began with a kestrel and then a heron flew over. Very shortly afterwards, a female blackbird, instead of scooting off, chose to perch on a branch for me and waited for the sunshine to sit perfectly on her feathers before she flew off. That felt like a little connection with nature.

After throwing the ball for Little Dog, we walked into the fields and, as I looked up, rounding the corner glided a red kite followed by another kestrel. I was already starting to feel filled with warmth.  The sun was out almost all of the time now and little things caught my eye like the nettles starting to emerge. Nettles... Butterflies soon.  The thrushes were next.  The ducks didn't fly straight off today either.

Energy seems too intangible an explanation for what was in the air but something was. And it wasn't the coffee.  We found a sheltered stone to sit down on and CJ settled in the warmth of the sunshine. Right there, I had one of my planet feelings. Quite unusual for a field.  Everything felt strangely alive, or maybe strangely there. This one is hard to explain. Maybe I just felt the moment exactly as it was. A tough one to use words for. But it was certainly a magical feeling.

In those same moments, I saw a buzzard heading right in our direction. It was flying hard into the wind and travelled straight overhead, fairly low.  To my amazement, another was off to one side and flew straight past the sun, disappearing for a moment. They stayed around for a long time.  

I simply sat and watched, feeling quite happily engulfed in my surroundings and in my emotions.  

It's been a very special morning.  In a field.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.