. . . A single tree,

There was . . .

I make no apology for this picture – the tree in Sycamore Gap on Hadrian’s Wall that has been photographed a million times, blipped many times and has acquired star status from being in the film 'Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves' (apparently!)
 
I have an excuse:

I have been today to a fascinating lecture in Newcastle on how Wordsworth and Coleridge used trees in their poetry. The lecture was given by Pamela Woof, who is president of the 'Wordsworth Trust' and who knows more about the Wordsworths than anyone – I would have thought anyway! We mainly focused on 'The Prelude' and how Wordsworth when young felt a keen sense of being at one with nature:
 
. . . and came erelong
To a green shady place where down I sate
Beneath a tree, slackening my thoughts by choice
And settling into gentler happiness. **
 
Then in later life he was able to recall such moments with great joy. Just as he did with daffodils, when they flashed upon that inward eye.
 
So, as we had decided to return home via the Wall road, I had to stop and take a picture of the tree – didn’t I!
  
** Don’t try this under this tree or you may be trampled on by the many walkers along the Wall!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.