Weaving the Willow

I've had a lovely couple of days catching up with folks and today I walked to Saltaire in the spring sunshine to meet orienteering buddy Marcia off the train.  We had a cuppa at the Half Moon Cafe in Roberts Park and then took a tour of several floors of Salts Mill, a place new to Marcia, before lunch in Salts Diner.  Much catching up was indeed done before we emerged into the sunny day again for a turnaround Saltaire village before Marcia headed home to Sheffield and I walked home.  On my way down to the canal I bumped into Beth...more catching up of families and lives then on the way over Beckfoot Ford there was Judith heading in the same direction as me, so yet more asking after children which helped weary legs going up the hill through St Ives!  

Tony was nowhere to be found in the house but then I spotted him through the window, erecting his Christmas present from Jen and Pete - a living willow arch.  Neighbours Jeff and Molly came to admire his handiwork and, before we knew it, it was time to prepare tea.  As Tony packed away his tools, a robin perched on the willow arch....exactly what we were hoping for!  Tomorrow he has even more complex weaving to do and I will look forward to blipping the arch as it fills out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.