Boat Trip

At some point on our bike ride to Skipton today I likened it to giving birth....in that giving birth acquires a rosy glow as distance from the event takes over. When I suggested that we ride along the canal to Skipton to pick up Tony's reading glasses I had forgotten the previous time we had done this route. The public bits are well pathed, but in the more remote areas there is mud, rocks, tree roots and scary bits which are rocky, muddy, rooty very close to the edge of the canal!

As we munched on a very yummy bacon sandwich in the café on the wharf in Skipton I geared up for the return journey (and took this blip of a narrow boat setting out on its 30 minute tourist trip along the canal to Skipton Castle and back) and surprisingly found it much easier. We had a second stop at the equally excellent café at the top lock at Bingley Five Rise for tea and cake (Tony's promise!) and I reflected that I must have a 'stronger side'. Basically I am happier travelling with the canal on my left side rather than my right..so mud, bring it on!

We spotted a range of wildlife on our ride including a mandarin duck and this duck/goose, which I've googled but still can't identify. It had a very odd swimming movement too. Help birdlovers!

The bikes are now hosed down, we are hosed down and fed so it's an evening of the third series of 'Game of Thrones' ahead, yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.