The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Heatwave

This little dog was certainly looking as if his coat was too hot this afternoon! Captured outside the Black Books Cafe and the Soap 'n' Suds Laundrette.

There is not much to be said about Fridays at work without resorting to questionable language. But some of the children had dressed as book characters because it was World Book Day yesterday, and one of the other children became fascinated by another child's donkey costume, and was heard to utter the phrase,

"But can't we go to the bathroom together: just you, me and the Donkey?"

Awww! But the answer was no. Not even for ass-wipes.

I wanted to spend part of the afternoon lazing, but no. I had a massage to do. And then the sun was almost gone, so I lay down and read a book on autism with severe learning difficulties. That was inspiring: I quickly fell asleep!

The book containing my poems (and lots of others) about film, to coincide with Stroud's first-ever film festival. is published. Steve has seen it and says it's a good looking book. Sadly, though the distributor waited until one o'clock today for me, I was unable to go to the cafe to collect my copy. I sweated so damn hard over those poems that I definitely want to see it. Same as the last one, based around Laurie Lee's Cider with Rosie chapter headings: seems like every six months or so there's a poetry deadline and I'm sweating. Even to think about it makes me feel clammy.

I"m off on a storytelling course tomorrow. Means catching a bus at 8.30 from near my workplace, and walking up a huge hill, or maybe catching a taxi from the non-existent rank in Nailsworth, in order to get there for 9.30 am, witha packed lunch. I think this just proves that I'm insane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.