Log Freuchie

By Freuchie

Sam Robinson Memorial Race

On my way to buy a paper this morning, having already taken several possible blips for today's journal, I passed the Balfron High School campus and noticed a crowd of cyclists lined up, ready to start a race.

The driver of one of the cars waiting to accompany the cyclists told me the event was The Sam Robinson Memorial Race, and apparently it's 75 miles long. Although there is a cooling breeze today, it is still very warm, so I don't envy the competitors... but I admire them.

I thought Sam Robinson may have been a local person, but enquiries in the newsagent's and the greengrocer's drew a blank, so I googled him when I got home. I'm no further forward, because there has been a famous Sam Robinson photographer, golfer, basketball player and councillor, so it could be one or none of these. However, I did find out that there have been umpteen road races in his memory over the years, and no doubt a lot of money has been raised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.