Goodnight Mum

Best viewed *large*

This is the hardest back blip to do.

I kept telling her to let go. Everything was going to be ok and she was going to be alright.

We left her sleeping & went for a walk around the hospice grounds - beautiful place.

But before we left her, I put my arm around her, held her hand & whispered to her that if her favourite flowers were out, the ox eye daisies, even if it was just one, could she please let go now, when we were outside, or when we came back, or perhaps at the end of the day, during the evening. It sounded soppy, but I meant it with all my heart. I told her she would soon walk in the gardens of paradise filled with ox eye daisies, against a vivid blue sky & the heat of the sunshine & she'd be so happy, so at peace.

And of course, one was flowering, only one & it was this one.

She died that night at 11:35pm - she kept her promise, as I know she heard what I had told her. And I love her so much for that - if I don't love her as much already. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.