atoll

By atoll

Every Woman Every Man, Join the Caravan of Love

Saturday morning and just about to initiate the annual cutting of the hedge from hell, and I was on the look out for a displacement activity. Anything to put off the inevitable really. Fortune favoured me with the serendipity of not 1 but 5 romanay caravans parked just opposite the house - ha ha!

Just spent a very enjoyable 15 minutes chatting to some very friendly 'travellers' but who were in fact not traditional travellers at all. They were all leaving there homes in Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent to travel in caravan to the annual Appleby Horse Fair. They were travelling about 15 miles per day to get there by 15th June. All the caravans had been made and decorated by one Stoke family, and it was explained to me that the forerunners of these brand-new caravans had once been used to transport pottery to sell all around the country.

I have always wanted to go to the fair, but was worried by tales of drunkeness and animal cruelty. To a person everyone I spoke to told me that was not the case, and to give it a try. I think I will!

The picture taken is of lovely Gary and Christine (sorry forgot to ask the horses name) and in the background top left is my neglected and still un-cut hedge. I will post some other pictures on my blipfolio, but I wanted to feature these two as I had promised I would.

Better crack on as is is already 12:33 and the football is on at 19:00. I can't explain it, but for some reason this example of human spirit has really cheered me up. So "come on hedge, give me all you've got" - and by way of conclusion:

Every Woman, Every Man,
Join the Caravan of Love
*

*Listen to original 1985 R&B hit by Isley-Jasper-Isley of The Isley Brothers as later also recorded by the Housemartins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.