atoll

By atoll

Gordon Bennett!

A lovely but hot day working in Aberdeen Friday. The ultimate photo-opportunity was my climb to the roof of the new library tower being constructed at the Garthdee campus of Robert Gordon University. Beautiful views over the river, city skyline and beyond that the sea with it's stacked-up shipping waiting to enter port, and a sea harr rolling in (a lovely name introduced to me only the other day by KirstyHalbert). Sadly I took load of videos up the tower, but forgot to photograph anything - Oops!

The real highlight of the day by the way was seeing a whole host of trout freely rising to sedges mid-river on the Dee. I also forgot also to bring my fly fishing gear along, as it seems the University holds 2 rods for this beat - Damn!

Anyway, in compensation all I can show you is this modest little shot of the main facade of Robert Gordon College (originally Robert Gordon Hospital). My first meeting of the day was near here, in what remains of the RGU University ever-diminishing presence in the city centre.

Established by Aberdeen's great merchant philanthropist of the same name, the Auld Hoose was completed by William Adam around 1750. The college web says the institution was built as a "Hospital for the Maintenance, Aliment, Entertainment and Education" of boys. I have struggled to find out who the sculpture set within the facade is of, but I can only assume for now it is of 'RG' himself.

You see many shots online of this building looking at it through the outer arch, but this perspective is now spoilt by the installation of a security lodge and barrier there. What a shame. Guarding that same quadrangle entry outside is another statue, but this one on a plinth and of that other great Gordon - Major-General Charles George Gordon. Added after his 1885 death in Khartoum, and with no known link to either Aberdeen or Robert Gordon, the plinth inscription reads: Member of the Gordon Clan. I guess that is enough.

So who should be added now to that Clan list of the great and the good? Probably best to avoid Gordon Brown I would say.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.