A Year Through My Eyes

By egbaldwin

Kayaking in Franz Josef

24.05.12

Everyone a little delicate after the night before, we headed further south again to Franz Josef home of the fastest moving glacier in the world.

When we arrived at lunch time the weather was pretty poor but I decided to go kayaking anyway and I'm so glad I did. Kayaking in the rainforest surrounded by mountains and glaciers merely miles from the ocean with mist rising over the lake as the weather continually changed! We went into a part of the rain forest where the rarest form of kiwi lives, so cut off from preditors and other species it's adapted to the dark rain forest and lack of mammals by growing whiskers!

Being a former rower I loved being back out on the water, even if I was travelling in the wrong direction!

This blip is me on the water

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.