In Training

This afternoon I went on an extended hike into the BNP, and made a couple of interesting discoveries.

I seem to remember some months ago getting hot under the collar, quite distressed mentioning that the railway authorities had closed down the rail crossing to our favourite walking trail.  I went to check the gate this afternoon, and discovered, much to my delight, that people power has prevailed.

The fence has been broken, and you can just walk right on in.  I know that the Rangers know about it, and the Friends know about, but I guess they figure it's the railways' problem and not theirs. They'd be about right.

So I spent a very pleasant half hour wandering along the track.  I spotted quite a few birds but couldn't get any images.  It's all very dry, and we are quite desperate for rain.

Then I went on up to the ridge, and climbed through the fence up there.  There is a fire track that I wanted to explore properly, so I went right down to the bottom, and found this amazing cliff face.  It's a shame there isn't a hiker or a person on the trail because that would have given the scale of this place.  The cliff would have to be a good 100 feet high.  My research tells me that it's the Upper Waterfall Lookout.  Never been there before, and it's quite remote.

I was tempted to practice my free rock climbing skills, but fought the temptation successfully.  (Only joking - I couldn't climb a cliff to save my life).

Note to the Rower, yes, I did have my mobile with me, and no I didn't see a single person.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.