SKP64

By SKP64

My sister

Spent a wonderful day with one of my sisters (I have two, one brother & four step-brothers) in London. We've never done that before; she has lived in Scotland for the past 20 years and I spend most of my time working & living in Manchester now.
This photo was taken in Greenwich and we think, based on cut of grass and positioning, that this will be one of the jumps in the cross-country section of the three-day event at the Olympic Games. The area is buzzing with activity and the seating around the arena is a marvel of engineering and scaffold construction. I understand that some of the locals may not be as delighted at the prospect of the equestrian events as my sister who will be travelling with my eleven year old niece and (slightly older) sister-in-law to the cross country day. I, though, felt stirrings of national pride and feel no guilt at saying so; too often I feel it's not the done thing to be proud to be English and British, in fact later on at Speakers Corner we were accosted by a chap who was angry at me just because I was British. Well there's bugger all I can do about my country's history (or mine for that matter) so I'm certainly not going to be blamed for it!
London was a hive of activity for the "Jubilympics" and I'm looking forward to being part of the throng in the capital next weekend it's just a shame my sister won't be with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.