The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Four Years and Counting

Yes, it was four years ago today that I first started my Blip journal and as, at the time of publishing, this is entry number 799, you can tell that I have not published every day as that would mean that I would have 1460 entries.  

I enjoy photography and I enjoy blipping but sometimes life just gets in the way of such pastimes and after my health issues over the last year, I have made a conscious decision not to get too stressed about things unless they merit the stress.  I am busy trying to get my life back on track and therefore, rushing about at 11:30pm of an evening to find a blip just didn’t seem to comply with my “no stress” rule.  Consequently, although I have actually taken some photos for back blipping, I have not posted since 16th February.

I realised that I was nearing my 4th Anniversary on Blipfoto and therefore thought it appropriate to make the effort to post today.  A lot has happened since that first blip (The Olympics Are Coming to Town), not least the fact that the Olympics feel like a distant memory.  I've since retired from the police and embarked on a new career (well a new job anyway), I've lost both my parents in that time, and I've battled back to health from cancer.  I'm kinda hoping that the next four years are just a little bit more mundane.

For today's celebratory blip, I decided that, as the landscaping element of our garden refurb was completed last week, it is time to share a view of our new layout.  I ask for forgiveness at the distorted view as I needed to create a panorama to get it all in.  Have a look at the before shot to see how things have changed somewhat.  It has been a long time in the making and it has evolved through the process.  We've still got a lot of planting to do and some new patio furniture is on order but we are now looking forward to enjoying the coming spring and summer months in our lovely garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.