Post Card from the Isaac Theatre Royal

I went for a walk into the city as I want to have a look around the Isaac Theatre Royal as they were having their first open day since the theatre had been resorted. There was a really strong cold wind and when I saw the queue I thought I would look around the city first and maybe the queue would be least.

I found on my walk around the city that one more building had be demolished. Also I found a dog in a army truck with goggles on... he seemed very happy enjoying the peoples attention. By the time I got back to the Theatre the queue was even longer so went and had a coffee. I got talking to a lovely couple who had just been in the theatre and said it was well worth the wait.

Yes it was worth the wait in the queue. I wish I had of had my new camera that takes great shots in low light. I did get a few OK shots.

About the Isaac Theatre Royal for people who don't know anything about it.

The Edwardian-style theatre is the Christchurch home to many of the national performing arts companies of New Zealand and many International touring shows, musicals, concerts, recitals, community and school events and children’s theatre. In the earthquakes the theatre was severely damaged. After a major rebuild and restoration of some of the original features, the theatre reopened its door last November.

The theatre’s famous 1908 hand painted canvas ceiling dome (which you can see in a few of my photos) has been painstakingly restored to its original glory and has been a key focal point of the restoration for many of the theatre’s supporters. Italian restorer, Carolina Izzo and her team have cleaned the canvas panels individually for over 100 years of dust, grime and nicotine revealing the true beauty of the painting for the first time in over a century. The painting inspired by scenes from Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” is now considered to be the largest of its type still existing in Australasia and will be a major attraction itself in the rebuilt theatre.
For more informaition and photos of the Isaac Theatre Royal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.