Innocuous

This photo may give the appearance of a tranquil day along the lines of yesterday, but it wasn't.

I had planned a route over to Beckwithshaw and Rich decided to join me for the first time since I've been cycling again.  He's been cycling on his hamster wheel in the garage so I was a little worried.

We began road biking when foot and mouth kicked off in 2001and have done lots together in the past but this did feel a little strange with a shadow on my tail.  

It all started well until we hit the hills that I forgot to tell him about (you don't get that in the garage (although he had seen the map)).  A few hills later and a seriously strong headwind, where we should have been able to coast, we were instead in bottom gear pedalling hard. We were both really tired.  This seemingly innocuous photo of that moment was Rich’s opportunity to get ahead as I stopped for a photo (he is on there). 

I have been sworn at. But, all was almost forgiven after I served up chocolate pudding and custard on our return.  We’ve now eaten sausages and mash for four and have lost the ability to speak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.