International Women's Day

This has happened a few times on this holiday. We've gone to bed early and woken in the early hours thinking how deeply we've been asleep only to find it's only half past 11. It's a joyous feeling. It happened last night and then waking up again to the sounds of the seashore was just wonderful.

After breakfast with the gift of a rose for International Women's Day, we both had another massage and sat by the pool for some chill out time before setting off on our travels again. I had a huge brown butterfly with bright green spots land on a flower on my bikini. I was really pleased but I reckon she was a little miffed.

On the way to the airport for our flight north to Hanoi, we spotted a man carrying two feathered chickens from his moped handlebars. I suggested they might be for dinner but our driver thought they'd be a gift for International Women's Day. 

I hope he plucks them.

After a smooth flight, we're now at our next hotel in the centre of Hanoi's French quarter. It has a distinctly different feel to it. There seem to be more cars and less mopeds on the roads but the roads are wider and here, it doesn't feel quite so hectic. Perhaps the old quarter will feel more so and we'll see that tomorrow. 

One of our guides told us that we'd notice a difference in the characters of the people we meet which we weren't convinced about but sure enough, the influence of the north with a stronger communist influence is noticeable with people being very pleasant but more reserved.

I think I'll blip a photo of a quiet alleyway which we've passed on our evening stroll but it's very tempting to blip a more surprising find which Rich spotted around the corner. Perhaps that will be my extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.