High Waters

I've seen a few bits on the news today (this particular one is from the Press and Journal website) reporting the flooding up in Inverness over the last few days. I've also seen a few pictures on Facebook of friends there with the river so high (Kathleen that was a pretty cool picture near the bridge. I'd have totally gone over it!).

Not only does it remind me of living up there and recognising these places now underwater but, it always makes me think of the folk on duty to protect when the floods do happen. I used to work at the Scottish Environment Protection Agency as a Flood Warning Duty officer. It was our job to be on call when our river gauges detected the water rising and to get the alerts out. You'll hear these alerts on the TV, same for the Environment Agency down in England. If you were lucky this would happen during working hours but chances are it would be at 2am and then again at 3am no doubt!

Hope everyone is keeping safe up there and I hope whoever is on call at the moment has been able to get some rest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.