Oh B****r !

A slight mishap this morning. Muesli is stored in the large storage jar, and the lid slipped from my hand and broke.

Now I love this pot. We visited Mulchelney pottery the year before last en route to stay on a fantastic farm on the Somerset levels. One of the favourite photos I've taken was that day, of John Leach (grandson of Bernard Leach) at his potters wheel making some lids for pots. He appeared on Countryfile a few weeks back, talking about the impact of the floods on his pottery, which was completely flooded out.

So I phoned the pottery at the end of today. No answer, so I hung up. But then a few minutes later my mobile rang, and a lady asked if I had called. I explained that I had dropped the lid, and could it be replaced. She said no problem, just e-mail a photo so they can match the pot. I said I would do, and who was I talking to. Lizzie Leach she said. I asked if she was the daughter or granddaughter. She said she could dine out on that one, she's only recently turned 75 - so Mrs John Leach.

So here's to fantastic customer service, and a good future for the Mulchelney Pottery which has survived despite some of the worst floods in living memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.