Forest Walk

Every so often I get a chance to walk through a forest with The Best Mate and his dog. Usually the dog barks with excitement as he gets out of the car and I feel all hope of wildlife hanging around to have photos taken is gone, along with said wildlife! This morning Ash was silent and, as we walked, a deer ran ahead of us.

There is a small herd, maybe half a dozen, of these wild roe deer in this small forest and whilst the are very shy and flee rapidly, they often pause and stare at us as if to check what we are before they hurry away.

I just had to hope the camera settings would work for this shot as there was no time to check. The camera had been set up for the outer, brighter part of the forest, so was a bit slow for the darker interior but I'm quite happy to use this as it's so unusual for me to get a pic of one.

As I write this up, a day later, I hear that lynx are being introduced to Britain to control the million wild deer. The reintroduction of this predator is planned for Ennerdale in our county.

Now that will make a great blip. I'll be over there shouting "Here, kitty,kitty!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.