CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

RIBWORT

Plantago lanceolata, also known as Ribgrass, Ribwort Plantain or Narrow Leaved Plantain.

When I was little we used to loop the stem behind the seed head and fire the seed heads at each other. My wildflower book says that because of this the plants are also called Soldiers or Fighting Cocks, but I've never heard them called that. Does anyone else have any local names for them? I think we used to chew the leaves as well, which I remember tasting quite sour and refreshing (but that might have been another plant, so don't try this at home!)

Easily overlooked when out and about, but worth a closer look.

In other news: tomorrow I'm helping B on his stand at the North Yorkshire Guitar Show in Thirsk. We've got a car packed to the roof with stuff to sell, and we're hoping to come back with much less of it AND NO NEW STUFF. I'll be on the lookout for blips of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.