Day at a Time

By Tweedy

God bless the Baxters of Edinburgh ...

I'm on a strict timetable today. Very busy at work and I won't be home till after 11:30 pm. Very late for me I can tell you.

I noticed this plaque above a door in the Dean Village last week. Couldn't find any information about it so I contacted the Royal Commission on Ancient & Historic Buildings of Scotland for advice and this is what they say:

The building was originally the Baxter's Incorporation Of Edinburgh Granary. The inscription below reads God bless the Baxters of
Edinburgh who built this house
This is the direct link to the entry for 13-15 Dean Bridge with more
information including a summary of the plaque from October 2002:
http://canmore.rcahms.gov.uk/en/site/52613/details/edinburgh+dean+village+15+13+bell+s+brae+the+old+tolbooth/

The building dates from 1675.

An excellent and speedy service from RCAHMS and an interesting story about the door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.