Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Squinty Shed and the Pentland Hills.

It was good to get back on the road bike for a Sunday Ride. I had planned to go for a 40 mile ride, but the wind was much stronger than forecast. The Moor Road had me head down and peddling. I was not like other mis-fortunates I passed, those gilets don't half catch the wind.


At West Linton, it started raining, which was not in the forecast either. I decide to  cut my losses and shortened the route. So Storm down the A701. Between Leadburn and Penicuik, I stop to get a shot of the squinty shed and the Pentland Hills. At this time of year, the hills look so purple.

Wind Assisted, it doesn't take too long to get back to Edinburgh. The gusts of wind from the side are challenging, checking met office website later that day turns out gusts of 35mph!

I do a loop around Fairmilehead to take my total mileage to 36.5 miles. So not a total waste, just a little more tiring than expected. Just glad to get back.

Next weekend then. Same again, only with less wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.