Piglets

Wild boar piglets. There was only ever going to be one winner with this encounter and it was never going to be me!

Screaming the car into a lay-by, haring up a bank , shimmying over a fence in hot pursuit of 4 wild boar; I hadn't realised they'd got piglets. Nine in total but they were being well protected. The longer I stalked the more aware they became of me  even at that distance. I was quite surprised at how fast they moved through the undergrowth and then just disappeared. Treading on the 3 inch layer of oak leaves, crunching loudly underfoot (rather like a herd of elephants) I was never going to get near enough to get a shot through the trees. The largest sow  kept turning round to see me following, but then suddenly started forward  ducking her head  aggressively - oh no..I wasn't going there as they can be quite vicious. Cantering back to the car at a pace looking back over my shoulder from time to time I was relieved when I  got back to the fence. Did get this shot though but I don't think running and trying to get focus with a long lens works is the easiest. It's the fun of the chase though isn't it?

Did get some perfectly good bee and crocus shots but I was far more excited with these. One thing to see the wild boar of the forest but quite another to see the piglets!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.