Mr Willy Wonka

It was a lovely bright and frosty morning and I wished I could have stayed at home instead of going to work.  However, it was raining by lunchtime so maybe just as well I was at work.  I got wet as I hurried along Princes Street to do some shopping at lunchtime.  BB is going on an adventure centre weekend with cubs in a couple of weeks and we got the list of clothes that they have to take with them.  I could live for a week in what they need for a weekend, but I guess past experience dictates what the boys will need, especially taking into account the high probablitity of them getting wet and muddy.  This necessitated some (cheap) purchases, in case the clothes are ruined and/or don’t ever make it home.

My train home was delayed, but at least it arrived and went to my destination.  I was on badminton pick up tonight and was almost late, as although my time was already shortened by the late-running train I needed to pop to the supermarket. Once at the till I discovered that I didn’t have my purse.  Panic!  Luckily I realised that it was probably in the car – and thankfully it was.  Whew!  However that added extra time to my shopping trip that I didn’t have.  Luckily the supermarket were very understanding, though I am not sure about the people behind me in the queue!  I made it to badminton just in time.

BB was straight down to spelling, reading and cello practice when we got in.  His new reading book is Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and he read me the first couple of chapters – and he read them very well.  I’m glad they are back on Roald Dahl.  I couldn’t bear another Mr Gum book.  Here he is lying on the floor in the hall (next to the radiator) reading to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.