Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

A Long Way Down

The flu is still raging but I'm not one to sit around, waiting for it to pass but neither am I fool enough to go near anyone lest I pass it on.  

Pitch Hill is home to one of the fabulous viewpoints in the Surrey Hills. It isn't far and, midweek, there are very few people around other than a few mountain bikers.  I could have stopped at a car park close to the top but decided to make my walk longer, give the dogs some fun, and clear my nose and lungs that are severely suffering from the virus.  I've been running a temperature for three days now and the long walk may not have been what the doctor would order but the fresh air and sunshine made me feel so much better.  

With a network of tracks to choose from, I took a longer route to the top. The path's not such a killer as the one in the photo, which I took on the way back down. Even when I'm well I'm not into doing a climbing marathon when there's an easier option.  

I'm not sure the photo can really depict the steepness of the hill as it descends into the valley below. At the top, in the far distance, you can just see the form of the North Downs. The forestry are hard at work in the area and I'm hoping that soon they'll open more clear views of the surrounding area.  It must have been spectacular before they planted thousands of Pine trees.

Back home, Hilda is on her feet but still not as bright as I'd like to see her. Tomorrow is decision time. It may be that the vets will have to abort her lambs or in the worst case she may have to be put down.  Any how, it will be expensive!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.