Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Fast Hail

We got some good-going hail this prevening. I took a shot out the window at the deck. First, lazily, as the camera was set (Clickr to Flickr), then a second, with the shutter slowed up so as to blur the hail and rain a bit. I was going to blip the latter, but decided that overall I do prefer the lazy one. ;)

Oh, and why am I posting this, not waiting for something film?... My film journey is, as one of our nurses might say "drawing to a closure". B&W is more of a draw for me than colour, with film. I reckon the Ilford B&W film that can be processed with c-41 (normal colour processing) is, not to put too fine a point on it, crap. I got the Fomapan, which from images I've seen is a lovely hard contrasty film - exactly what I want.

No. Body. Does. B&W. Processing.

Well, that is to say, Camera House didn't anyway, but they did send it away to be processed, and they've now stopped even doing that. There's a place or three in the City, but that's a bloody hike, or I can post the roll/s to Victoria or Queensland.

Sod. That.

It would have to utterly bowl me over in some way I could never even slightly approximate digitally, were it to be worth that sort of hassle.

So, upshot of that is I'm going to ring a place or two in the city, and see if they can do same-day B&W. If they can, I'll drop in my Fomapan roll/s in the school holidays, when we take a trip in. But that's weeks away, and that's the end of it.

For now at any rate; maybe I'll get into developing my own B&W once I'm retired and have more time - if film survives another 16 years and 7 months. xP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.