Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Palm Trees

The city of Darwin in Australia's Northern Territory wasn't quite what I expected. Lots of pubs, restaurants and activities aimed at the many back-packers who visit the city, an excellent display of Aboriginal art at the Art Gallery of Northern Australia and not, in my opinion, much else.

I appreciate that others, including those who live - or have lived - there, mat have a totally different opinion and that I may be wholly wrong, but it wasn't the high-spot of my Australian tour.

It is an excellent starting-point for tours of Kakadu and Nitmiluk National Parks, however, and it does have an impressive display of public art dotted around the city. These 'palm trees' are part of an art-work called "Reading the Palm Trees" and I found them rather amusing on my wander round the town soon after my arrival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.