Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tenderness

I had a hard time choosing today's blip, but I kept going back to the sequence of shots I got this morning of Royal terns engaged in their beautiful courtship "dance".  I cropped this one to focus on the faces and the way they have crossed their bills.  I am very happy with this shot, both from a technical standpoint and from an interest standpoint.  I always feel like I've accomplished something when I can capture some sort of behavior.

I was up early and, since I had to be back here by 11 for an appointment, I decided to just go to the nearest beach and take a walk.  Took the D750 rental (yes, I still have it) and Big Daddy and set out.  Before I got far, I saw a big flock of Black Skimmers and Royal Terns sitting on the beach - bingo!  I crept quite close and then settled down in the sand to watch.  The lighting was perfect this morning.  

In addition to the terns and skimmers, I also saw a pair of Laughing Gulls doing the wild thing ... right there on the beach in full view of everyone.  Mister looked esctatic while Missus looked... well, bored.  Don't believe me?  Have a look for yourself!  

I also stopped in the Seabird Sanctuary where I was treated to a very quick peak at two just-hatched baby brown pelicans - totally bald and about the size of my hand.  OMG - cuteness!  And, speaking of cuteness, a wild Black Vulture apparently made a nest for herself right behind the owl enclosure and she recently hatched two fuzzy little vulture kids.  One of the workers at the sanctuary took me back to get a few shots since they aren't visible to the public.  Again, uber cute!  I posted 12 shots, starting with the pelican babies starting HERE on Flickr.  

Hubs is due home in a few hours.  I am so glad he's nearly home - I miss him very much when he's away, and these recent trips have been particularly difficult for him.  We are going to go on a little adventure tomorrow night/Saturday morning.  The adventure that we had to postpone a few weeks ago...

Tomorrow morning, I think I'll head back over to Redington Shores and see if I can capture some more early morning photos of the birds.  I need to return the D750 tomorrow...(sob).

Thank you for your kind words about Ollie yesterday.  He was a very special man, loved by all who knew him.  

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.