Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Dance Continues...

I found myself headed to Redington Shores again early this morning, hoping to catch some interesting behavior and also wanting to check on the baby pelicans.

The Royal Terns didn't disappoint.  Of the 50 or so of them on the beach, several pairs were engaged in their beautiful courtship dance.  They slowly circle each other, heads and crests raised, stopping at times to gently cross their bills.  Maybe it is just my current state of mind, by I find their behavior achingly tender.  And I couldn't resist blipping them again today.  

Your many lovely comments, stars, and hearts on my pair yesterday were so much appreciated, so I hope you'll not be disappointed to see more terns today!

On a sadder note, the pair of tiny newly-hatched pelican babies did not survive the night.  Apparently, either a snake or, more probably, a night heron raided the nest sometime during the night, taking both babies.  I felt sad as I saw Mama sitting on her empty nest this morning, almost as if she thought they were still in the nest.  It makes you wonder at the capacity for birds to feel grief, doesn't it?  This is something scientists have debated and I'm not sure there is any definite answer.  How much of her sitting on the nest is instinct and and how much is some form of grieving?  

In any event, the whole thing is a reminder that Nature is a tough mistress and sometimes one must die so that another can live.  And, on a happier note, the two fluffy vulture babies looked fit and well this morning.  

I've posted 8 other shots from today on Flickr, starting HERE if you've time to take a look.

Hubs and I are off on an adventure later today.  Stay tuned for tomorrow's blip to learn where we went!

Happy Friday, people...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.