Peg and a moral dilemma

Peg is the name I've given this seagull. When I first saw him or her, she still had a right foot but it was dangling uselessly from an obvious break in her leg. Over time the foot has gone and she is left with a peg. She still uses it for balance and seems to manage quite well standing on her good leg while eating goodies from the deck. She is the only seagull I don't chase away. I guess I'm just a softy. Plus I admire her for keeping on keeping on and am glad to see that she is still around. Of course she flies like a dream as all the seagulls do.

And the moral dilemma? Well. This morning I read an article about Beneful dog food that raised my consciousness. Here is a similar one from the Internet. Oops! Guess what I've been feeding the larger birds? And I just bought a big bag yesterday. I haven't noticed any bad effects on the crows and seagulls. (I'm sure Peg's problem has nothing to do with it. I suspect a predator but don't actually know what happened.) But that doesn't mean the stuff isn't bad for them. I surely won't buy any more. And I will return the bag to the market tomorrow if they'll take it. I really hope that no birds were harmed by my ignorance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.