Sunrise over Salcombe

Awoke early this morning and was very pleased to see that the mist and rain of yesterday over South Devon had cleared away. When I pulled back the hotel bedroom curtains, this wonderful skyscape greeted me. From my viewpoint, perched high on the hillside above the Salcombe estuary, the sailing boats at anchorage in the harbour were distant specks with a vast spectacular umbrella of dawn clouds above them.

A couple of days in the South Hams, as this area of Devon is known, reminded me what a special place it is. The rich red soil and rolling scenery is a feast for the eyes, and there is always something calming about being near water.

Today has been World Sleep Day, not to mention Friday the 13th. I feel grateful to be safely back home in Kent tonight at the end of a day of road and air travel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.