BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Anabolic

I know you’re not supposed to photograph
the installations. Desist! Desist!
I told myself but, as you can see,
I couldn’t resist.


As soon as I entered
the City Art Gallery I spotted this
and wanted to share it,
with you.


It spoke to me. It’s so random.
Yet so real. It’s so not artsy fartsy.
It’s so down to earth. So,
dare I say it, working class.


It speaks of the common man.
The bricks, the bike, the stepladder.
The anabolic (whatever that is?).
The bucket of sand. The rope. The wood.


The tools of his trade
and his mode of transport
all rolled into one.
It’s up there


with that famous unmade bed.
I’d have preferred it if the artist (Wilf)
had called it Back Of A Lorry
rather than Anabolic


but I do love it and getting all
of that stuff
to stay up on the wall
is a neat trick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.