Friday is fish day

Traditionally, in Ireland, fish was the meat of choice on a Friday though this has changed in more recent years. This Little Egret is just on his starters with some fry....I had the chicken piri piri today for lunch when I met old friends for lunch. Unfortunately for us the very successful Cheltenham Festival was blaring from all t.v.s in a very crowded pub for the racing. Cheltenham racing is as big a deal in Ireland as next week's St Patrick's Day and many take holidays to enjoy the festival, though not as many travel to the UK as did in the heady days of the Celtic Tiger.........Unfortunately for the racing crowd I cheered every winner ( though I had placed no bets!!).... When I watch the big racing festivals I am always reminded of the following song....just saying

The Galway Races

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.