ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

The Difference A Day Makes

Yesterday was the mountains and special shared moments with Fluffikens to such an extent when I was on home turf by the sea today it was still on my mind. As the Shanic Siobh trawled just two hundred yards off the point I was reminded of two songs written by Johnny Duhan, including the following. The other is called The Beacon (which I have sent on to her)..

The Voyage
I am a sailor and you’re my first mate;
We signed on together, coupled our fate;
Hauled up our anchor, determined not to fail,
For the heart’s treasure together we set sail.

With no maps to guide us we steered our own course;
Weathered the storms when the winds were gale-force;
Sat out the doldrums with patience and hope,
Working together we learned how to cope.

Life is an ocean, love is a boat,
In troubled waters it keeps us afloat.
When we started the voyage there was just me and you:
Now look around us, we have our own crew.

Together we’re in this relationship;
We built it with care to last the whole trip.
Our true destination’s not marked on a chart,
We’re navigating for the shores of the heart.

Life is an ocean, love is a boat,
In troubled waters it keeps us afloat.
When we started the voyage there was just me and you;
Now look around us, we have our own crew.

The song I sent includes the lines...

Over stumps, stones, mould and boulders,

Over rock-ledges and -shelves

We struggled on and upwards

And rose above ourselves.

......just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.