Blush response

By Esper

Who Mourns For Dorothy?

I took Valerie to see the incredible Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs exhibition currently being held in the Suntory Museum until 3rd June. Because the exhibition has proven so popular in Japan, the Japanese government requested, and were granted, permission to continue exhibiting the treasures in Japan for a further six months. There were so many visitors today that entry to the museum had to be staggered. Luckily, Valerie and I arrived early an made it into the 144o slot. With almost five hours to kill we took the free boat over to Universal Studios. Walking beside the backlot, I peered over the fence and saw these statues dumped unceremoniously in front of a warehouse. The Oz attraction has closed now and been replaced by Sesame Street. I don't know, call me a sentimental old fool but I find a deep sense of pathos in this scene; perhaps it's because the statues are smiling despite their mistreatment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.