London street art

I was down in London for the day for an EEUK board meeting, which meant a very early start after a late night. 

It was frosty when I left home at 5.45 to drive to Glasgow, airport, and it seemed that all the traffic on the motorway was heading to the airport too. The queue at security was as long as I've seen it, as so many commuter flights leave between 7 and 7.30 am., but the queue moved fast.

I hate rushing for planes, so I had a bit of spare time after the meeting, which was in Shoreditch, an area I had never been in before. I asked where I could go for a wander, and was directed to Spitalfields Market and Brick Lane. The market was closing up when I arrived, but it looked interesting, lots of craft stalls in one part, and vintage/antique/stuff stalls in another, as well as lots of independent shops and restaurants. 

I took a wander along Brick Lane too, past numerous curry houses, all beckoning me in to eat. A lot of the buildings in the surrounding streets looked very old, definitely an area worth exploring again, when I have more time.

It was quite mild in London, but the area I was in was not showing signs of spring as there were no plants or green spaces anywhere. On my way back to Liverpool St station, I spotted this graffiti, which I thought made a cheery blip. 

Got to Stansted in plenty of time, so despite the long, slow security queue I still had time to eat there.  Unfortunately my flight was delayed so I finally got home at about 11.30. Long day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.