Mothering, Driving, Singing, Sweeping, ....

My daughter and I had a mini-meet in our Honda S2000 sportscars today. We met at a local garden centre. She presented me with a lovely bottle of fizz that I'm sipping at the moment.

We had a nice drive to Stow Maries Great War aerodrome, where I was hoping that we could have a coffee in the Airmen's Mess. All was quiet. A Mothering Sunday afternoon tea was in the offing so no coffee for us.

As we were about to leave a pretty woman in vintage clothes appeared from a motor-home. It was Fiona Harrison, she was booked to sing to the mothers. I told her that I was sorry that we couldn't stay for tea and that I couldn't photograph her as I had responsibilities at the family home. She offered to give me a private rendition. The mess was dressed beautifully for the event with bunting and daffs on the tables. Fiona has a gorgeous soprano voice and puts the well-known songs over with verve. I hope the event went off well this afternoon.

My daughter wanted to see inside the family home for the last time. My sister and I did final titivations at The Homestead. We de-cobwebbed and swept the outbuildings, sorted and labelled the keys and wrote notes for the new owners. Hope they like the lovely arrangement of garden flowers that my sister made and the card that I made with a pic of the house soon after it was built in 1896.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.