HighlandCoo

By HighlandCoo

She Moved Through the Fair

"My young love said to me
My mother won't mind
And my father won't slight you
For your lack of kind


She stepped away from me
And this she did say
It will not be long love
Till our wedding day


She stepped away from me
And she moved through the fair
And fondly I watched her move here
And move there


And she went her way homeward
With one star awake
As the swan in the evening
Moved over the lake


Last night she came to me
My young love came in
So softly she entered
That her feet made no din


And she came close beside me
And this she did say
It will not be long love
Till our wedding day"

Seeing as it was the London St. Patrick's Day parade today, I thought the picture of an Irish "cailín álainn" (beautiful girl) along with the lyrics of an old Irish song was appropriate.

It just fits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.